Types of Sex Crimes in Minnesota
3 months ago by Brian
In Minnesota, there are several categories of criminal sexual offenses, including first through fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct crimes. First and second-degree offenses are the most serious. That is why, if you’re charged with a sex crime, you need to consult with a sex crimes attorney as soon as possible.
First-Degree Criminal Sexual Offenses
A first-degree sex crime involves sexual penetration and is punishable by up to 30 years in prison. It includes offenses such as rape, aggravated assault using a weapon or threats, and criminal sexual contact with a person under 13 years of age when the perpetrator is at least 36 months older than the victim. It also includes sexual contact with a person who is physically helpless, mentally incapacitated, or mentally impaired.
Second-Degree Sex Offenses
A second-degree sex crime is punishable by up to 90 months in prison or 36 months for a sentence of statutory rape. The law presumes the execution of a sentence of 90 months where the perpetrator threatened the victim, used violence or force, caused injury, used a dangerous weapon, or significantly frightened the victim.
Third-Degree Sex Crimes
Third-degree criminal sexual conduct is non-consensual sexual contact and is punishable by up to 15 years in prison. It includes offenses such as criminal sexual conduct by force or coercion and criminal sexual penetration with a person under 16 years of age and at least 13 years old. The offender is not over 36 months older than the victim.
Fourth-Degree Sex Crimes
A fourth-degree sex crime involves non-consensual sexual contact and is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine. It includes offenses such as criminal sexual conduct by force or coercion or criminal sexual conduct by an authority figure. All the acts include non-consensual sex without penetration.
Fifth-Degree Sex Offenses
Fifth-degree criminal sex offenses involve non-consensual sexual contact, indecent exposure, or masturbation in public. It is punishable by up to 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $14,000. It counts as a gross misdemeanor charge.
Basically, first- to third-degree criminal sex crimes usually involve sexual penetration with a minor. Second-, fourth-, and fifth-degree sexual conduct charges do not involve penetration. First- through fourth-degree charges are felonies.
Probation and Sex Offender Registration
Following any term of imprisonment, sex offenders typically face a period of supervised release or probation lasting at least 10 to 15 years. They must also register as a predatory offender, providing information like their home address, vehicle details, and place of employment to law enforcement officials. This information is publicly available on Minnesota’s predatory offender registry (POR) website.
Failure to properly register as a sex offender or violating the terms of probation can lead to additional legal consequences, including more jail time and increased restrictions. The penalties for sex crimes in Minnesota act as a deterrent against these harmful acts and help keep communities safe through close monitoring of convicted offenders.
The Importance of Getting Legal Representation
Prosecuting a sex crime in Minnesota typically has no statute of limitations, allowing victims to press charges when they feel ready. Convictions can carry significant prison time as a result.
This can indeed present problems for the defendant, especially when it comes to witness accounts and memories.
Therefore, it’s important to retain the services of a sex crimes defense attorney who can navigate these cases using their knowledge of the current law so they can apply the proper defense strategies.
Schedule an Appointment Now with a Sex Crimes Attorney in Minnesota Immediately
Do you need a sex crimes attorney to support you in a sex crimes charge? If so, contact JS Defense in Rosedale, MN. Make sure you have the proper legal representation.