Who Has to Register as a Sex Offender?
12 months ago by Brian
Being convicted for a sex crime in Minnesota has consequences that go beyond the prospect of going to jail for a long time and paying hefty fines, and one of the consequences is being required to register as a sex offender.
If you have been arrested and face sex offense charges, it is important to speak to a dedicated Woodbury, MN attorney at JS Defense to discuss your case, and prepare and mount the best defense for you.
Sex Offender Registration in Minnesota
A person who resides in Minnesota is required to register as a sex offender if they are convicted of any crime that comprises the following charges:
- First, Second-, Third- or Fourth-Degree Felony criminal sexual conduct
- Murder committed while engaging or attempting to engage in criminal sexual conduct in the first- or second-degree using force or violence
- Extreme indecent exposure
- Distribution or possession of child pornography
- Soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct or prostitution
- False imprisonment of a minor
Moreover, a person commuting to work, attending school, or moving to Minnesota must register as a sex offender if they have been priorly convicted of a similar crime in another state.
Registration as a sex offender requirements in Minnesota include:
- Physical addresses of primary and secondary residence(s), and any property owned, rented or leased in Minnesota
- Address of place or places of employment
- Year, the model, make, license plate, and color of all motor vehicles owned or regularly driven by the convicted sex offender, and
- The convicted sex offender will also be required to be photographed, have their fingerprints taken, and must sign various required consent forms
Failure to Comply with the Sex Offender Registration Law
In certain situations, the Minnesota Bureau of Apprehension (BCA) may make information public regarding a sex offender who has not complied with the registration law.
The offender would have to be out of compliance for 30 days or longer and usually for failure to provide their primary or secondary addresses.
For an offender out of compliance who is 16 years of age or older, information about them may be made available to the public through electronic or other publicly accessible means.
The law limits the amount and type of information disclosed to the necessary for the public to help law enforcement in locating the offender.
Penalties for Failing to Comply with Registration
If for some reason, the BCA makes public information that is inaccurate or incomplete, the agency is immune from any criminal or civil liability if the BCA has done so by acting in good faith.
A convicted sex offender who knowingly violates any of the sex offender registration laws or who intentionally provides false information to a law enforcement authority, including the BCA, is guilty of a felony.
The person found guilty on this ground must be committed to jail for not less than one year and one day for a first offense, and not less than two years for a subsequent offense.
Speak with a Minnesota Sex Crimes Lawyer
If you have been arrested and charged with a sex offense, contact our Woodbury, MN JS Defense office today for a free consultation. Call: 651-362-9426