What are the sentences for Manslaughter in Minnesota?
12 months ago by Molli Meyer
What is manslaughter?
“Manslaughter is an unlawful killing that doesn’t involve malice aforethought—intent to seriously harm or kill, or extreme, reckless disregard for life.”
The laws differentiating manslaughter from murder vary from state to state. In the state of Minnesota, manslaughter can be defined as a crime of extreme passion or negligence. If you are facing manslaughter charges in Minnesota, you should speak with an experienced attorney to find out your available legal options.
Woodbury Manslaughter Lawyer Justin M. Schiks, at JS Defense, represents clients across the state of Minnesota. He has successfully helped clients facing a wide range of criminal charges.
In the state of Minnesota, there are 2 classifications of manslaughter: First-degree manslaughter and second-degree manslaughter.
This degree of manslaughter is often charged for killing someone in the heat of passion. An example of this: A person catches their spouse in bed with another person. If this person kills one or both individuals, they would likely be charged with first-degree manslaughter.
This manslaughter charge is more along the lines of engaging in reckless behavior. You could be charged with second-degree manslaughter if you knowingly or consciously take a risk that results in the death of a person. For example, you engage in negligent behavior with a gun on a hunting trip then accidentally shoot someone dead.
Manslaughter charges in the state of Minnesota can have serious consequences. Even if the death was unintentional, you could end up spending a number of years behind bars because of your negligence.
You will need an experienced attorney with a solid track record in your corner. If you live in the Minnesota area, call upon JS Defense for a reliable and agressive defense.
Sentences for manslaughter in Minnesota
Manslaughter may not be murder, but it can still get you some time in prison if you are convicted. How you are sentenced can be based on the severity of the crime, as well as if you have a prior criminal record. Here are the guidelines:
- The sentence for first-degree manslaughter can range up to 15 years in prison and up to $30,000 in fines or both. In most cases, the defendant will only serve 7-10 years.
- The sentence for second-degree manslaughter could net a defendant up to 10 years in prison. However, in many cases, they will likely serve less than 5 years.
If you find yourself facing a manslaughter charge in Minnesota, don’t delay. Seek out legal representation as quickly as possible. Criminal defense attorney Justin Schiks at JS Defense is ready to help you with your charges. Call today 651-362-9426 for a free consultation.