Getting a DUI With a CDL in a Personal Vehicle?
1 year ago by Brian
What Happens If I Get a DUI With a CDL in a Personal Vehicle?
Getting arrested for a DUI can bring in many questions regarding your license, job, insurance, and many other factors influenced by this offense. Several different penalties can be applied depending on the DWI or the magnitude of the car accident if any. But what happens if you’re a commercial truck driver? You’re probably wondering what will happen with your CDL – does it get taken away? Will I lose my job? Understandably, you’ll have many questions surrounding this. That is why you should speak to an experienced Woodbury MN criminal defense attorney about your situation.
Minnesota Driving Laws Are Strict
If you’re one of the thousands in Minnesota earning their living by driving a truck, you will be held to a higher standard than those driving personal cars. The state legal blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for regular motorists is 0.8%. Still, for those with a CDL, it’s halved to 0.4%. When you are arrested for a DUI, no matter if you’re in a personal or commercial vehicle, you will likely encounter criminal and administrative penalties.
First, Second, and Third Offenses
Regarding administrative penalties, if it’s a first-offense DUI, a regular driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days if the BAC is under 0.16%. Still, you may be able to acquire a limited driver’s license with the help of your lawyer. However, if it involves a CDL, you could lose that for one year or more if it’s your first offense. You will most likely lose your driving privileges, even if you were in a personal vehicle at that time.
You could lose your CDL for life if it’s a second-offense DUI. It does not matter if you were in a personal or commercial vehicle. Aside from this, you could face a lawsuit if there were injuries to another person or vehicle. Minnesota would automatically consider this a gross misdemeanor if it was your third offense within 10 years. You could go to jail for up to one year and face up to $3,000 in fines.
One DUI arrest doesn’t mean your life is over but a DUI does stay on your record forever, and there is no way to remove it in Minnesota. You will be required to report this to your employer, and they could take certain actions from there. You could lose your truck driving career and end relationships with your employer and coworkers. They may not want to risk keeping you as an employee because if they tell you to drive a commercial vehicle after your driver’s license has been revoked, they could get penalized.
Let a Woodbury, MN DUI Lawyer Help You Today
Our legal team may be able to defend you against a CDL suspension. Call our office today at (651) 362-9426 or submit our contact form for more information on a free case evaluation and consultation with an experienced Woodbury, MN lawyer. Do not run the risk of losing your CDL and possibly your livelihood when a criminal defense lawyer can help you fight the charges.