You Can Still Get Arrested for DUI During the COVID-19 Shutdown
3 years ago by Justin M. Schiks
In response to the current COVID-19 pandemic, many states, towns, and cities across America have implemented stay-at-home and shelter-in-place orders, requiring individuals to self-quarantine, except under emergency circumstances. However, you should know that even in the midst of the current COVID-19 pandemic, DUI enforcement is still underway in Minnesota.
Moreover, if a police officer pulls you over for potentially violating a shelter-in-place order, and during the course of the stop, the officer determines that you are driving while under the influence of alcohol, he or she can still make a DUI/DWI arrest on the spot.
DUI/DWI convictions can result in fines, jail time, and a whole host of other potential penalties. If you or someone you love is facing a DUI charge, it is important that you retain an experienced attorney to represent you in your case as soon as possible.
The knowledgeable Woodbury DWI defense lawyers at JS Defense, PA. will investigate the circumstances of your arrest and are committed to providing you with knowledgeable and result-oriented legal representation throughout your case. Please call today to learn more about how we can assist you with your legal defense.
Legal Alcohol Limits in Minnesota
Just like the majority of states in the country, Minnesota has set its per se legal intoxication limit as 0.08 percent for most drivers. Therefore, if an officer pulls a vehicle over and finds that the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, then the State does not need to introduce any additional evidence of intoxication. Moreover, if the driver blows a 0.16 percent or higher, then he or she may be facing a criminal charge for aggravated DWI, which can result in a judge imposing harsher penalties upon conviction.
With regard to drivers who are under 21 years of age, there is a zero-tolerance policy in effect. Therefore, any underage driver who is determined to have a positive BAC (even if it is low) may ultimately be convicted of DWI.
Finally, all drivers in the State of Minnesota, by virtue of their driver’s license and simply operating a motor vehicle on a state road, automatically consent to a blood, breath, and/or urine testing, which is used to determine if you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Potential Penalties for a DWI Conviction in Minnesota
The potential penalties for a DWI conviction in Minnesota are high. For example, a fourth-degree offense (i.e., a first impaired driving violation within a ten-year period with no test refusal or aggravating factors) can lead to a maximum of 90 days of incarceration, along with a monetary fine of $1,000. These penalties increase with the number of prior DWI offenses and with the presence of aggravating factors.
Call a Woodbury DWI Defense Lawyer about Your Case Today
If you or someone you love is facing a criminal DWI charge, the legal team at JS Defense, PA. is ready to assist. For a free case evaluation and legal consultation with an experienced Woodbury DWI defense attorney, please call us today at (651) 968-9652 or contact us online for more information about how we can help you.