What is Vehicular Manslaughter/Homicide in Minnesota?
4 years ago by Justin M. Schiks
Homicide is defined as the killing of a human being. In order for homicide to become a crime, it must be unjustified or done without cause. One type of unjustified homicide is criminal vehicular homicide. In Minnesota, criminal vehicular homicide is a form of involuntary murder. This means that you are accused of killing someone, but you didn’t intend to do it. Intentional criminal homicide crimes include acts such as murder.
Minnesota Criminal Vehicular Homicide
In Minnesota, criminal vehicular homicide is defined under subdivision 1 of the criminal statute 609.2112. According to the statute, an individual is guilty of vehicular homicide when they cause the death of a human being while operating a motor vehicle. The death is only considered vehicular homicide because it isn’t in the category of manslaughter or murder.
It’s important to stress that vehicular homicide is a serious criminal charge even though it’s not considered murder. If you or your loved one is facing criminal charges, you should contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Justin Schiks. He has defended numerous people charged with this type of crime. He will help you fight this charge.
You can be charged with Vehicular Homicide for a Variety of Reasons
A person can be charged with criminal vehicular homicide in a variety of ways if they were operating a motor vehicle at the time of the victim’s death.
For example, you can be charged with vehicular homicide because you grossly and negligently operated a motor vehicle when the person was killed.
Gross negligence refers to ignoring a stop sign and hitting a pedestrian.
Another circumstance that can lead to a vehicular homicide charge is being in an accident that kills someone and leaving the scene.
The punishment for the crime will depend on the type of circumstances that caused the death of a person.
For instance, a person who is accused of drinking while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs may receive a harsher sentence.
Punishment for Minnesota Criminal Vehicular Manslaughter
According to subsection 1, a person convicted of vehicular homicide may receive prison time. The amount of time may depend on the case. However, the maximum prison time is 10 years behind bars. A person can be sentenced to pay a fine of $20,000. A judge may sentence a person to pay the fine and complete a prison sentence.
The maximum term for causing a death while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol is 15 years in prison.
Charged with Vehicular Homicide in Minnesota?
Anyone can be charged with a criminal offense. This doesn’t make you or your loved one a bad person. It means you must fight this charge. JS Defense has assisted numerous individuals facing vehicular homicide charge to achieve outcomes in their favor at trial. Contact our Criminal Defense Lawyer Justin Schiks today for a free initial consultation in Minnesota!