AVAILABLE 24/7 - FREE CONSULTATION

651.362.9426

OUR BLOG

Legislation, cases, law news…
Penalties for Burglary in Minnesota  Burglary

Penalties for Burglary in Minnesota 

2 months ago by Brian
Share our post

Being accused of a crime is not something to be taken lightly, as a criminal record can change your life forever. If you have been accused of burglary in Woodbury or near St-Paul Minnesota, connecting with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible will support the best possible outcome in your case

 

To be convicted, the prosecution must prove each element of their case beyond a reasonable doubt, and your attorney works tirelessly to identify this doubt. Whether your case goes to trial or settles beforehand, an attorney puts you in the best possible position by carefully reviewing how the law applies to the evidence of your burglary case

 

An experienced criminal defense attorney from JS Defense is standing by to review your case and help you avoid as many penalties for burglary as possible.

 

Burglary in Minnesota is a Serious Crime 

When a person is successfully convicted of burglary by the state, the penalties under Minnesota law can be very significant. Burglary in the first degree can lead to: 

 

  1. A minimum sentence in prison of 6 months and up to 20 years in prison
  2. A fine of up to $35,000 in addition to or in lieu of prison time

 

Burglary in the second degree can lead to: 

 

  • Up to 10 years in prison
  • A fine of up to $20,000 in addition to or in lieu of prison time

 

There are also third and fourth-degree burglary offenses under Minnesota law, which involve entering a building with the intent to commit a misdemeanor-level theft or entry to commit a non-theft-related misdemeanor. Third-degree charges could mean five years in jail and/or a fine of not more than $10,000, while fourth-degree burglary can result in up to one year behind bars.

 

The Prosecution Must Prove Every Element of the Case 

When you have been convicted of a criminal charge, each element of the crime must be proven, and burglary varies between first or second-degree burglary. 

 

First-degree burglary is when:

 

  1. A person enters a building without consent 
  2. With the intent to commit a crime
  3. Or a person enters a building without consent and does commit a crime
  4. When another person is present in the building, and the burglar either
  5. Possesses a dangerous weapon, or 
  6. The burglar assaults the person in the building 

 

Second-degree burglary is when:

 

  1. A person enters a building without consent 
  2. With the intent to commit a crime or does commit a crime 
  3. The portion of the building entered contains a banking or financial business 
  4. force or the threat of force is used for entry 

 

If found guilty of burglary in the first degree, you could be liable for fines and spend up to two decades of your life in prison. You need a defense lawyer to challenge the prosecution’s evidence and avoid a conviction whenever possible. 

 

Connect with a Woodbury, MN Burglary Lawyer 

Do not wait to schedule a consultation with JS Defense to explore options for your defense. We are ready to help defend against your burglary charge. Call: 651-968-9652

 


Share our post

Aggressive, Personalized defense

At JS Defense, you are not just one of the many. We pride ourselves on our availability for our clients. Our firm is regionally and nationally recognized in the legal community as delivering an aggressive defense for each and every client, no matter how serious the case. If it matters to you, it matters to us!

Request A Free Case Evaluation

Explain your case to receive a free and confidential initial case evaluation. We are available 24/7 so you can get the help you need quickly.