Penalties for a Hit and Run in Woodbury
3 years ago by Justin M. Schiks
Under the law in the State of Minnesota, a hit and run accident could result in either a felony or misdemeanor criminal charges, depending upon the circumstances. A criminal charge centers on the accused’s decision to flee or leave the scene of the accident, regardless of whether the driver is at fault for the accident.
In some instances, a hit and run could involve one driver versus another driver, where a driver fails to remain at the accident scene after being involved in an accident that involves moving vehicles. At other times, a hit and run could involve one driver striking a motor vehicle that was unattended at the time. In that instance, the driver must make a reasonable effort to notify the vehicle owner of the collision, such as by leaving his or her contact information at or near the vehicle.
If you have been charged with a criminal hit and run, a conviction could bring about penalties and other consequences. The skilled Woodbury criminal defense lawyers at JS Defense, PA. will do everything possible to help you minimize those consequences – or keep them from happening altogether. Please give us a call today to find out how our legal team might be able to help.
Criminal Misdemeanor Charges for a Hit and Run
In some cases, a driver chooses to leave the scene of a motor vehicle accident without providing his or her contact information. If there were no injuries sustained by anyone in the accident, the driver who left the scene could be charged with a misdemeanor hit and run.
Upon being convicted of a misdemeanor hit and run charge, the accident victim could incur a maximum monetary fine of $1,000, along with a maximum of 90 days’ incarceration. The driver might also be subject to a license suspension.
In the event that the accident results in personal injuries, the offending driver could be fined a maximum of $3,000 and could receive a maximum of a year of incarceration.
Criminal Felony Charges for a Hit and Run
In cases where the hit and run accident results in serious bodily injuries or harm, such as permanent disfigurement, high risk of death, or loss of a bodily organ, the driver could be charged with a felony hit and run.
Upon conviction for a felony hit and run, the accused could receive a maximum monetary fine of $4,000, along with a maximum of two years’ incarceration. If the hit and run accident resulted in another person’s death, the driver could receive a $5,000 fine and a maximum of three years in jail.
Call a Woodbury Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Legal Matter Today
The law treats Minnesota hit and run accidents very seriously. If you have incurred misdemeanor or felony charges, let the experienced attorneys at JS Defense, PA. assist you with your case.