When is Minnesota Sex Offender Registration Required?
3 years ago by Justin M. Schiks
If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, you probably already know that you are facing incarceration and heavy fines if you are convicted. You may also be ordered to participate in mandatory sex offender treatment. Unfortunately, many people overlook one of the most damaging aspects of a sex crime conviction – being required to register as a sex offender.
Sex crimes are among the most serious criminal charges you can face. A conviction could carry a life-long stigma that can significantly impact your life years after you have served your prison sentence and paid your fines. If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, hiring skilled legal counsel is critical. Woodbury criminal defense lawyer Justin Schiks at JS Defense can help you face your charges and get a fair result. If you’d like to learn more about how we can help, contact us to schedule a free consultation today.
Crimes that Require You to Register as a Sex Offender
Minnesota law requires anyone convicted of the following sex crimes to register as a sex offender:
- Felony criminal sexual conduct of the first, second, third, or fourth-degree
- Felony indecent exposure
- Solicitation of a minor
- Possession or distribution of child pornography
- Using a minor in a sexual performance
- False imprisonment of a minor
Note that you will be required to register as a sex offender if you are convicted of kidnapping and false imprisonment, even if it wasn’t sexually motivated. In certain situations, you may be required to register as a sex offender even though you pled guilty to a lesser charge.
If You Were Convicted Outside of Minnesota
If you were convicted of a similar crime in another state and live, work, or go to school in Minnesota, you will also be required to register as a sex offender. Even people visiting Minnesota for longer than 14 days must register. If you have a prior conviction but aren’t sure whether or not you need to register, don’t assume that you don’t have to register because the potential consequences can be very serious.
Information You Will Have to Provide
If you have to register as a sex offender, you will have to provide the following information:
- The address where you reside, a secondary address, and any address or other property that you own
- The name and address of your employer
- Year, make, model, color, and license plate number of any vehicles you own or regularly drive
You will need to fill out various forms, provide your fingerprints, and a current photograph. You will also need to keep this information current – any change in address or other information should be reported immediately.
Length of Registration Period and Consequences for Failing to Register
If convicted, you will be required to register for a minimum of 10 years. In some cases, a conviction will require you to register as a sex offender for life.
Failing to register when required to do so is a very serious matter. Each violation will carry an additional five years of registration. Your first violation will also carry a prison sentence of 1 year, and your registration requirement will restart once you are released from prison.
Charged with a Sex Crime? Contact a Woodbury Criminal Defense Lawyer Right Away
The consequences of a sex crime conviction can last far longer than any time you spend in jail. Don’t jeopardize your future by trying to face your charges on your own. An experienced Woodbury criminal defense lawyer at JS Defense will fight for your rights so that you can get a fair outcome. Contact us at (651) 968-9652 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and how we can help.