Manslaughter as a Lesser Offense to Murder
3 years ago by Justin M. Schiks
Derek Chauvin is the police officer who held his knee on George Floyd’s neck for approximately nine minutes, resulting in Mr. Floyd’s untimely death, which has sparked outrage and protests in Minneapolis and throughout the entire country. Chauvin is currently facing criminal charges for second-degree manslaughter and second-degree murder. If he is ultimately convicted of murder, he may be looking at a maximum of 40 years of incarceration.
Currently, manslaughter is a lesser offense to a murder charge. However, the potential penalties that you may receive upon a conviction are still serious. If you or someone you love is facing a criminal manslaughter charge, you need an experienced defense attorney on your side to guide you through the criminal defense process. The experienced Woodbury manslaughter lawyers at JS Defense, PA. can assist you throughout your criminal case and ensure that all of your legal rights remain protected. Please call us today to learn more about how we can help you with your legal defense.
Second-Degree Murder Charges in Minnesota
A person can be charged with second-degree murder in the State of Minnesota under the following circumstances:
- Killing a person in the course of a drive-by-shooting
- Intentionally killing an individual without any premeditation (which is typically first- degree murder)
- Intending to injure an individual, the individual suffers death as a result, and the victim is the subject of an order of protection
- Bringing about an individual’s death during the course of committing a felony, but without intending to kill anyone
A person who is convicted of second-degree murder in Minnesota can receive a maximum of 40 years in state prison.
Manslaughter as a Lesser Offense
Minnesota has two degrees of manslaughter – first-degree and second-degree. A person can be charged with first-degree manslaughter if he or she kills someone else in the “heat of passion,” such as when the accused finds his or her spouse in the bed of another. A conviction for first-degree, manslaughter can result in a maximum of 15 years of incarceration and/or $30,000 in monetary fines.
A person can be charged with second-degree manslaughter when a death occurs during the course of extremely reckless activity, such as by shooting off a gun in the woods and accidentally killing someone. A conviction for second-degree manslaughter can lead to a maximum ten-year prison sentence.
Call a Woodbury Manslaughter Lawyer Today
Although manslaughter is a lesser crime than murder in the State of Minnesota, a conviction can still result in serious penalties. If you are convicted of second-degree manslaughter, for example, you can still spend time behind bars. One of the best ways to increase your chances of success in your criminal case is to hire experienced legal counsel to represent you.
The knowledgeable legal team at JS Defense, PA. will do everything possible to maximize your chances of success. For a free case evaluation and legal consultation with an experienced Woodbury manslaughter attorney, please call us today at (651) 968-9652 or contact us online to learn more.