Juvenile DWI in Minnesota
2 years ago by Brian
Contact JS Defense, PA today if your teenage child is charged with driving while intoxicated in Minnesota. DWI convictions will stay on your child’s record for life, and this will have long-term effects on you and your family members. They need the best possible Woodbury DWI Lawyer against these charges.
If a driver under the age of twenty-one has a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .00, he or she can be charged for underage driving while intoxicated.
The legal drinking age is 21 in Minnesota, and the state has a zero-tolerance policy for drunk driving.
Underage DWI Laws in Minnesota
Underage drivers in Minnesota cannot do the following:
- Lie about his or her age to purchase alcohol
- Possess any alcohol with the intent to consume the alcohol
- Purchase or attempt to purchase alcohol
- Consume alcohol without parental permission and supervision
Underage drivers may face multiple charges if they are driving while intoxicated and also distributing alcohol to other minors. Many teenagers face multiple charges related to DWI arrests.
Juvenile DWI Crimes and Minnesota Law
If your child is arrested and charged with underage DWI, he or she will likely be charged with a misdemeanor and face penalties based on the reported blood alcohol content and the existence of any previous DWI convictions.
Juveniles may face one of two DWI offenses. The first is the “Not-a-Drop” law which entails minors being charged with DWI if any alcohol is in the body while driving.
A juvenile can still be charged even though the blood alcohol content is below .08. Violating the “Not-a-Drop” law constitutes a misdemeanor.
The offender is often assessed a fine of $1,000, 90 days of license suspension, and up to 90 days of incarceration.
The second DWI offense an underage driver may face in Minnesota is a full DWI charge.
If an underage driver operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08, he or she will be treated as an adult if he or she is 16 or older.
Offenders face a fine of no more than $3,000, incarceration for 90 days, and 180 days of license suspension. Underage drivers may also have to pay increased automobile insurance premiums that will remain in effect for five years.
Juvenile Offenders May Face Related Charges
The following are other offenses that may accompany a juvenile DWI charge:
- Possession of false identification
- Child endangerment
- Soliciting alcohol
- Distributing alcohol to minors
Criminal convictions carry long-term consequences and may lead to lost opportunities for young people. A DWI conviction can affect college admissions, job prospects, and the ability to obtain a professional license.
Contact a Woodbury, MN DWI Lawyer Today
Speak with our Woodbury DWI defense team today to schedule a free consultation during which we can discuss the facts of your case and the possible options in your child’s case.
You should take every opportunity to learn about diversion programs and reduced charges that may help your child avoid a criminal conviction. Contact JS Defense, PA today to learn more about the legal services we offer at 651-362-9414.