AVAILABLE 24/7 - FREE CONSULTATION

651.362.9426

OUR BLOG

Legislation, cases, law news…
What is First-Degree Manslaughter in Minnesota? Manslaughter/Murder

What is First-Degree Manslaughter in Minnesota?

3 weeks ago by Justin M. Schiks
Share our post

Any type of murder charge is a serious charge. It is one that requires the skills and experience of a reputable Woodbury manslaughter lawyer. Although charges and penalties for murder vary depending on the circumstances and details of the death, a conviction of any type of homicide or manslaughter charge in Minnesota can lead to long-term prison sentences, extreme fines, and many collateral consequences impacting your personal and work life. If you are facing charges of first-degree manslaughter, you not only need the representation of a skilled attorney, but you also need to understand your charges and their implications.

Manslaughter Charges in Minnesota 

When one person kills another, the general term applied is homicide. Each state has its own definitions, degrees, and mandatory penalties for murder and manslaughter. In the state of Minnesota, there are three different degrees of murder charges and two different degrees of manslaughter charges. No matter which type of charge you face, nothing is more critical to your freedom and reputation than having a seasoned Woodbury manslaughter attorney on your side.

Murder charges usually accompany an alleged murder with intent to commit the crime. However, manslaughter charges often apply to a murder that is not planned but rather arises out of extreme negligence or in the heat of passion. The alleged criminal can be punished more or less seriously depending on their state of mind when the murder was committed. 

Under Minnesota statute, first-degree manslaughter charges can be applied when the alleged perpetrator acts in the heat of passion. For example, if one spouse finds the other in the act of infidelity and kills one or both of them. On the other hand, a second-degree charge of manslaughter is different because it applies to situations where the alleged perpetrator is reckless. For example, if two people are on a hunting trip together and one is reckless with their firearm, and unintendedly shoots the other, killing them. 

Penalties for a First-Degree Manslaughter Conviction

In Minnesota, potential consequences for this type of murder charge depend on your previous criminal record and the specifics of the alleged crime. It is imperative that you speak to your Woodbury manslaughter lawyer to determine how these consequences might be applied in your case. If you are convicted of first-degree manslaughter charges, you will face as many as 15 years in prison, a fine of up to $30,000, or both. However, it is typical for the convicted defendant only to serve between seven and ten years. 

Reliable Defense Representation from a Woodbury Manslaughter Lawyer

Learning that you have been charged with first-degree murder is quite disconcerting, to say the least. You do not have time to waste. The best step you can take right now is to hire an attorney who has a reputation of helping people like you who require a solid defense against manslaughter charges. Receive your no-obligation consultation with a seasoned Woodbury manslaughter attorney at JS Defense, PA by calling (651) 968-9652 today or get in touch online. Don’t delay in seeking legal help. The sooner you reach out, the more we can do to help you.


Share our post

Aggressive, Personalized defense

At JS Defense, you are not just one of the many. We pride ourselves on our availability for our clients. Our firm is regionally and nationally recognized in the legal community as delivering an aggressive defense for each and every client, no matter how serious the case. If it matters to you, it matters to us!

Request A Free Case Evaluation

Explain your case to receive a free and confidential initial case evaluation. We are available 24/7 so you can get the help you need quickly.