Factors that can Escalate DWI Charges
3 years ago by Justin M. Schiks
Under Minnesota law, it is a criminal offense to drive while impaired by alcohol or other drugs. If you do and you are caught, you can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated, often referred to simply as “DWI.”
The penalties upon conviction for a DWI conviction often vary from offender to offender. In many cases, however, the penalty for a first-time DWI offender includes time in jail, along with the loss of a driver’s license for at least 30 days, up to one year. In addition, the costs of a DWI can soar up to $20,000 and may include legal fees, court expenses, and higher car insurance rates.
The more times that an individual is convicted of DWI in Minnesota, the higher the penalties will be. If you have been charged with a DWI, one of the most important things you can do is to retain experienced legal counsel to represent you in your case. The experienced Woodbury DWI defense lawyers at JS Defense, PA, can work to minimize the consequences of your DWI charge or conviction.
Please call us today at (651) 968-9652 or contact us online to learn more about how we can help you.
Ten-Year Look-Back Period
When it comes to prior DWI offenses, the State of Minnesota employs a ten-year look-back period to determine if you are a repeat DWI offender – and whether you should be subject to an enhanced penalty. The way this works is as follows:
- If you had previously been convicted of a DWI offense 11 years ago and you received a DWI today, your second DWI would be handled just as your first DWI was.
- If you were convicted of a DWI offense seven years ago and received another DWI today, the most recent DWI would be elevated to the level of a more serious criminal charge.
Other Aggravating Factors for DWI Offenses
The State of Minnesota categorizes impaired driving charges into four different degrees, depending upon the severity of the allegations, along with the presence or absence of various aggravating factors. Some of the most common aggravating factors which may be used to enhance a DWI charge include the following:
- Excessively high blood alcohol concentration levels
- Prior convictions for DWI offenses, as described above
- Having a minor child present in your motor vehicle at the time you incur the DWI offense
Contact a Woodbury DWI Defense Lawyer to Discuss Your Case Today
Penalties for DWI offenses in Minnesota – most especially repeat offenses – can be severe and may include fines, jail time, probation, mandatory community service, and other penalties. If you have been charged with a DWI in Woodbury, the legal team at JS Defense, PA, can evaluate your case and determine what your options are.
For a free case evaluation and legal consultation with an experienced Woodbury DWI defense attorney, please call us today at (651) 968-9652 or contact us online for more information about how we may be able to assist you.