Click Fraud Protection
JS Defense
Blog

Latest News

Legislation, cases, law news…

image

Defending Against Multiple DWIs

Even a first-time conviction for driving while impaired (DWI) is a serious matter with costly consequences. To reduce repeat offenses, the penalties for DWI convictions under Minnesota law increase for subsequent offenses. This should be of concern to everyone in Minnesota, as our state has one of the highest rates of repeat DWI offenders in the United States, according to multiple surveys. In recent years, one Minnesota man was arrested for his 28th DWI.

You do not need to have 27 prior convictions to be concerned about multiple DWI charges. The following are some possible penalties for each offense:

First DWI Conviction

  • Misdemeanor charge or gross misdemeanor if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over 0.16 percent
  • Up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000
  • For high BAC, up to one year in jail and fines up to $3,000
  • 90-day driver’s license suspension

Second DWI Conviction

  • Gross misdemeanor charge
  • Up to one year in jail and fines up to $3,000
  • Up to one year of driver’s license suspension or ignition interlock requirement
  • The suspension can be for two years for high BAC over 0.16
  • Impoundment of your license plates and vehicle

Third DWI Conviction

  • Gross misdemeanor charge
  • Up to one years in jail and fines up to $3,000
  • Cancellation of driver’s license
  • Limited driving abilities with an ignition interlock device for up to three years
  • Impoundment of your license plates and vehicle
  • Mandatory treatment and being drug and alcohol-free for three years to receive driving privileges back

Fourth DWI Conviction (or more) Within Ten Years

  • Felony charge
  • Up to seven years in state prison and fines up to $14,000
  • Cancellation of driver’s license
  • Limited driving abilities with an ignition interlock device for up to five years
  • Impoundment of your license plates and vehicle
  • Mandatory treatment and being drug and alcohol-free for four to six years to receive driving privileges back

As you can see, the consequences for DWI convictions go from a misdemeanor and a potential 90 days in jail for a first offense to felony convictions on your record and up to seven years in state prison for a fourth offense. 
The best way to prevent subsequent DWI cases is, of course, to never drive while you are intoxicated. However, people make mistakes and errors in judgment. Police officers can also falsely accuse you of DWI when you are doing nothing wrong. If you find yourself facing multiple DWI charges – no matter what the circumstances may be – you need an aggressive Woodbury criminal defense attorney on your side right away. There are ways to fight these charges, as well as obtain a reduced sentence for a conviction. 

Contact a Woodbury Criminal Defense Lawyer to Discuss Your Case

There is no question that a DWI case can impact your life in many ways. With the right legal assistance, you can defend against your charge and minimize the effects of the case. Do not wait to speak with a Woodbury criminal defense lawyer at JS Defense, PA., by calling (651) 968-9652 or requesting a free consultation online.

Related Articles