Click Fraud Protection




Legislation, cases, law news…
Criminal Charges After Drunk Driving Accident DUI, DWI

Criminal Charges After Drunk Driving Accident

2 years ago by Brian
Share our post

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is always against the law. This conduct can end in an arrest, and the consequences of a conviction can range from paying fines to serving probation to going to jail.

The penalties for drunk driving increase substantially after causing an accident that results in serious injuries or death. 

At JS Defense, PA, we know how serious charges stemming from drunk driving accidents can be, and we are here to defend against the allegations against you. 

Possible Criminal Charges from Drunk Driving Accident 

Minnesota law provides a scheme of administrative sanctions and criminal penalties for anyone who causes an accident when they are driving while drunk.

The administrative sanctions include license revocation, restrictions on your license, license plate impoundment, vehicle forfeiture, and ignition interlock requirements.

A person caught drunk driving will also likely face criminal charges, which can bring serious criminal penalties and fines. The various criminal charges a drunk driver might face in Minnesota are as follows:


Offense Punishment Factors for Level of Offense
Fourth-Degree DWI Misdemeanor, up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $1000 DWI offense when the driver did not refuse a sobriety test, and there are no other aggravating factors*
Third-Degree DWI Gross Misdemeanor, up to 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine DWI offense when the driver refused to take a sobriety test or one aggravating factor
Second-Degree DWI Gross Misdemeanor, up to 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine DWI offense when the driver refused to take a sobriety test; or a DWI offense with two aggravating factors
First-Degree DWI Felony, up to 7 years of imprisonment and a $14,000 fine Fourth impaired driving arrest within 10 years; or following a prior felony DWI or criminal motor vehicle operation


*Aggravating factors include a prior conviction within 10 years; a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .16 or more when the impaired driver is being arrested; and the presence of a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle.

In addition to the above charges, a driver can face the following for causing certain accidents:

  1. Accidents with bodily harm to others will be a gross misdemeanor
  2. Accidents causing substantial bodily harm can be a felony with a possible three years in prison
  3. Accidents causing death will be a felony with a possible ten years in prison

These charges also mean higher fines and longer periods of driver’s license suspension.

Seek Help from a Woodbury, MN Drunk Driving Accidents Lawyer

If you are facing any of these charges, it is to your benefit to contact an experienced Woodbury, MN DWI lawyer at JS Defense, PA, who can aggressively help you defend against the charges.

Do not wait to call a Woodbury-St. Paul DWI lawyer, as the earlier you have a defense attorney involved, the better your chances of a favorable outcome of your case. 

We are here to help, contact us today for a free consultation.  Call.651.968.9652

Share our post

Free Evaluation

Take the first step to protect your future. Tell us about your case to receive a free and confidential consultation.

Aggressive, Personalized defense

At JS Defense: Minnesota Criminal Defense Lawyer, you are not just one of the many. We pride ourselves on our availability for our clients. Our firm is regionally and nationally recognized in the legal community as delivering an aggressive defense for each and every client, no matter how serious the case. If it matters to you, it matters to us!

Request A Free Case Evaluation

Explain your case to receive a free and confidential initial case evaluation. We are available 24/7 so you can get the help you need quickly.