If you find yourself facing a DWI charge in Minnesota, you need to seek the assistance of a skilled White Bear Lake DWI attorney. A legal professional possesses the necessary expertise to develop a defense strategy that will work in your favor.
Below is an overview of the typical penalties for a DWI conviction in Minnesota:
For a first offense, punishments may include:
A second offense (within 10 years) may involve:
Third offenses (within ten years) include:
The consequences of these penalties can follow you for a long time, especially if aggravating circumstances are involved. Therefore, you need to make it a point to consult with an experienced White Bear Lake DWI defense attorney who can challenge the charges and construct an effective legal strategy.
Minnesota enforces the use of an interlock ignition device through the Ignition Interlock Device Program. This option is beneficial for defendants who want to avoid a license suspension and wish to continue driving. To increase the likelihood of a favorable outcome in your DWI case, it is essential to rely on the guidance of a skilled criminal defense attorney.
According to the Department of Public Safety (DPS), first-time DWI offenders arrested with a BAC of 0.16 (double the legal limit) and above, as well as second-time offenders, must use an ignition interlock device to retain their driving privileges. This requirement can last anywhere from one to two years.
For individuals with three or more DWI offenses within a 10-year period, the interlock device must be used for three to six years to prevent permanent suspension of driving privileges.
Offenders who are eligible for the interlock device will regain limited or full driving privileges after DWI sentencing.
Failure to use a court-ordered ignition interlock device can lead to long-term suspension of driving rights.
When drivers use an interlock device, in-car cameras record the breath sample test. The test and video results are also given to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for monitoring purposes.
In Minnesota, the BAC interlock limit is set at 0.02. To start a vehicle then, the driver must blow into the breathalyzer device. If they fail the breath test, the results are recorded, and the device locks out for five minutes.
To ensure a more favorable outcome in your DWI case, it is vital to seek the assistance of a DWI lawyer to develop a successful defense strategy. In some cases, they may even be able to get the case thrown out of court if certain steps were overlooked during your arrest.
To schedule an immediate legal consultation, contact JS Defense today. Call our office or email Justin Schiks, DWI attorney, at firstname.lastname@example.org. Act now to secure the legal defense help you need.
At JS Defense, you are not just one of the many. We pride ourselves on our availability for our clients. Our firm is regionally and nationally recognized in the legal community as delivering an aggressive defense for each and every client, no matter how serious the case. If it matters to you, it matters to us!
Explain your case to receive a free and confidential initial case evaluation. We are available 24/7 so you can get the help you need quickly.